In the Sea of Uncertainty

So here I find myself,
bobbing gently in the Sea of Uncertainty.

Strangely tranquil and composed.
Thinking about all the different elements
of my circumstances,
the broad spectrum of possible outcomes.

A myriad of ways in which things might turn out badly, or worse…
How would I possibly handle that?

Yet again, I am somehow, strangely tranquil,
here in the Sea of Uncertainty,
my concerns clinging close
like the wet clothes of a ‘man overboard’,
acutely aware of my present circumstances,
aware of possible peril,
but curiously void of any feelings of panic.

For until the Lord Himself
removes from me the buoyancy that is life,
at whatever time and in whatever manner He may choose,

I will yet praise Him.

Psalms, hymns, and songs of praise
become spiritual sea shanties here
in the Sea of Uncertainty.

They are born of the Spirit and are living words,
keeping my heart and thoughts keenly focused on Him.
Declaring my faith and His truths,
submitting my uncertainty to His steadfastness.

Through the privilege of sacrificial praise
I can access the God of the Universe
to dissipate the dark clouds,
to gather up the lightning,
to keep the waters calm,
to light the way.

In Him, I can enjoy shelter in the storm,
without needing to be in port.

I can be like a buoy
rocking to and fro on the surface of circumstance,
yet all the while firmly anchored and secure.

My voice becomes like the buoy bell,
the more I get rocked as things get rough,
the more I sing out my shanties of praise.

I cannot see the horizon from here.
but You can, LORD.

In the grand scheme of things, isn’t that all that really matters?

©  2012  Beth A. Viera

thedeepbluesea[at]hotmail[dot]com

photo credit: PhotoBucket.com
28 thoughts on “In the Sea of Uncertainty

  1. A very sweet psalm and while reading it the words kept coming to me while reminding me of Christ being asleep on the sea, while everyone else was panicking , he spoke these words “peace be still”. No matter the trials and tribulations we are always safe in His loving grace for He is always in control…. Awesome poem my sister and i will always visit you…i am on wordpress also, at “Foreverpoetic@ wordpress.com. Have a very blessed weekend my sister!

    • Thank you for your kind comment! Interestingly, I used your quote, “Peace be still”, in another poem, (posted 08/18/12) called “In the Sea of Grief”.
      Will definitely visit you on your wordpress site. Thanks brother!
      Our Lord’s favor be upon you and your family. 🙂

  2. I love the comfort and the peace this brings, that peace that passes understanding, that we can only have from Jesus! Thank you and God bless you as you minister to us in His precious name!

    • Thank you Debbie! 🙂 I agree about the peace that passes all understanding. “Peace I leave with you, My peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth , give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled , neither let it be afraid .” John 14:27
      God bless you too my friend.

  3. lovely imagery. By far my favorite – “For until the Lord Himself removes from me the buoyancy that is life, at whatever time and in whatever manner He may choose” You have perfectly captured the weightedness of the absence of life. truly inspired and inspiring. So glad you stopped by my blog to lead me to yours. blessings and peace. Beth

    • Thank you, Brook. ‘Amazing and Graceful’…. hmm, reminds me of a song I love. 😉 No pun intended, but I just write ‘what floats up’!

      Your blog is both interesting and polished. I look forward to visiting again. 🙂 Peace. ~Beth

  4. I love the part where you compare praise and the buoy bell. “The more I get rocked… the more I sing out my shanties of praise.” Praise is never more precious than in just that sort of situation. Awesome poem!
    ~ Wendy

    • Thank you, Wendy. To God be the glory. Honestly, the poems on this blog just sort of tumble out.
      I fully agree when you say: “Praise is never more precious than in just that sort of situation.”. It keeps His wonderful attributes in the forefront of our thinking.
      I appreciate your comment. Peace! 🙂 ~Beth

Ideas | Insights | Comments

